Interview of Dr. Francesco Denitto, Discus Trophy

Here will we post Interviews with breeders and hobbyist from around the world.
Dizkuz

Interview of Dr. Francesco Denitto, Discus Trophy

Post by Dizkuz » 10 Jul 2008, 21:17

1) Who is Dr. Francesco Denitto as a person and tell us a bit about your job and family

Born in Mesagne (southeastern Italy) on 1970, the aquatic environment has always been an attractive world for me since I am a child. Since I received my first aquarium back in 1978, the waterlife became part of me. When I was about 8 years-old, my father introduced me to the snorkeling activities and in 1994 I took my first licence as SCUBA diver. In 1996 I took my thesis in Biology on the ethology of hydroids and medusae before spending several years at the University, ending in 2004 with my PhD in Fundamental Ecology on the benthic life in the submarine caves. Today, I am a marine biology researcher at the Salento University of Lecce, Italy. The aquarium is still at home!
[thumbnail]images/forumpics/interv/francescodenitto/francesco.jpg[/thumbnail]

2) When did you first get involved in Discus? Any memories you want to share?

I bought my first Discus at the beginning of the ‘90s. They were three young discus turquoise but just one survived till the adult stage. It was a female and for the first time I saw the discus spawning. Unfortunately, she was alone in the aquarium.. I wrote my first article on Discus about this singular experience.

3) Do you have any other hobbies besides fish Keeping?

Many others. Among them, sea dives, travels, aviation, ecc.

> 4) What other fish do you keep?

I like keeping all fishes but mainly original and not well known species. Actually in my tanks swim guppies, loricarids (Ancistrus, Peckoltia, Hypacinstrus), catfishes (Agamixis pectinifrons), one big Botia macracantha, Caridina (freshwater shrimps), Apahanius fasciatus (Mediterranean killies), etc.